…Advantages and Disadvantages…

Fairfield Town Hall Governor Chris Christie reacts after being asked a question from Kiana Bronder, 11, of Winston Churchhill Elementary School during the 118th Town Hall in Fairfield.

Kiana, “What are the advantages and disadvantages of being a Governor in your daily life?”

Governor Christie, “Well, well, well. Well first let me say, while trying to be serious at least for a moment, that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. I mean I love my job and I love going to work every day and I feel incredibly fortunate that I’ve been elected twice to this job, and it’s challenging and even when there are really difficult problems—the heroin issue, medical marijuana that affects families in a really tragic way, folks with developmental disabilities, economic issues, job issues, our magician here, all of the difficult issues that come before you as Governor, it’s still an absolutely great job. The disadvantages are few. First you have no privacy anymore, right? None. All throughout this room, there are members of the New Jersey State Police. They’re great men and women whose job it is to protect me every day. So one, you know, walking around knowing you need protection every day is kind of an interesting concept. Two, the fact that they’re with you all the time and I mean all the time. It’s 24 hours a day, seven days a week. They have a big trailer on my front lawn where they stay at my house. My wife loves it, loves the trailer. She really does. On Saturday morning my routine always used to be I’d go out and do errands on Saturday morning. I’d go to the dry cleaners. I’d go to the bank. I’d go to the deli and the supermarket. All the things that we all don’t get a chance to do during the week when we’re working that we have to do on the weekends, right? I get to do that sometimes. Me and my three members of the New Jersey State Police. You can imagine how subtle you look going down the aisles of the supermarket with those guys walking around with you, you know? So you lose your privacy completely. It extends to your family too, to my wife and to my kids. And so if there’s something controversial going on in the state there are lots of people who decide that they want to talk to my wife and children about it. That’s interesting, you know? I’ve got a 10 year old daughter, Bridget, and somebody, an adult in school or someplace else sees her and says you’re the Governor’s daughter, right? Yeah. Well you know I don’t like when he—and you know Bridget’s 10. She’s like I don’t know. I don’t know what he’s doing, not my fault. So your family loses their privacy too. And you have to learn over the course of this to just deal with all that. It’s just the reality of what goes on with the life, like you never walk in the front door of any place again. I walk through more kitchens than you’ve ever walked through in your entire life. Every person who works in a restaurant or a dining area kitchen, I know them probably in New Jersey from walking through there. It’s a very different and odd kind of life. I’ll give you—the advantages though far outweigh the disadvantages, and I never regret for a minute deciding to run or having won twice and, you know, I don’t know what I’ll do next with my life but I know that no matter what I do the time that I’ve spent as Governor has been really great and I would recommend it to you. It’s a good job.”

Leave a Reply

